Guide
Maintain User
Create New User
-
Select Tools > Maintain User > New.
-
Enter the Code and Name (both can be the same, e.g., Code = ALI, Name = ALI).
-
Click on More and select Change Password.

-
Click Save. Your new user account is now created.
SQL User license is on a concurrent basis (i.e., how many users can login to the system at the same time). This means that if you have 5 staff in the office who can access SQL but you only have 3 licenses for 3 concurrent users, you can still maintain all 5 users in the system, but only 3 users can login and access it at the same time.
User Access Right
Watch the tutorial video here: Youtube
Not every user will have the same access rights as ADMIN, and the ADMIN user might want to set security control settings in the system.
-
Select Tools > Maintain User > Edit for the user you want to set the access rights for.
-
Click on More and select Access Right.
-
Check the transactions/functions (row), compare with the user (column), and tick = Allowed or untick = Disallowed the action for a particular user for specific transactions. For example, based on the settings in the following images, the user is not allowed to delete Customers or to view Customer Payments.

Bar Navigator
Tools > Maintain User > More > Bar Navigator:
Use this function to customize the buttons in the Main Application by user.

| Field Name | Properties |
|---|---|
| Description | Definition: Navigator Full Description; Field Type: Alphanumerical; Length: 160 |
| Reset Button | To restore to Default Layout |
-
Right-click here:
-
Select Customize....

Field Name Properties Toolbars Show list of available Toolbars New... button Create New Toolbar **Rename...**button Rename the highlighted Toolbar Delete Delete highlighted Toolbar -
Select the Commands tab.

Field Name Properties Categories List of Available Buttons Category Commands List of Available Buttons on the Selected Category 
-
Select Categories (e.g., Sales).
-
Select Commands (e.g., Invoice...).
-
Drag from Step 5 to here.
-
Click Close.
-
Click Save.
-
Click Browse.
-
Click More > Navigator vs User.

Options Properties – No setting is set Default Set the setting Deny Not allowed to use (Not used in this function) -
Set the User to use the Toolbar.
-
Click Save (Blue Disc Icon button).
Maintain Document Number
Use this function to maintain document number formats and next numbers.
Watch the tutorial video here: Youtube
-
Tools > Maintain Document Number.
-
Insert a Description for the particular set of documents and select a Document Type (e.g., Payment Voucher).
-
The system’s default is the Format
%.5d, where%is the formula that enables the function to auto-run for the document number, while5dstands for 5 digits.
-
You can select the Frequency option as Never Reset or others.
-
Set the Next Number for this document.

Maintain Acceptable Transaction Date
SQL does not need to perform a year-end; it will cut off automatically. Once the account is closed, if you wish to block the period to avoid users changing the account figures, you may apply this setting.
Maintain Acceptable Transaction Date enables you to control which documents you are allowed to maintain (New, Edit) based on their dates.
-
Any document whose date falls within the allowed transaction dates can be edited.
-
Any document whose date falls outside the allowed transaction dates cannot be edited/created.
New Acceptable Transaction Date
-
Tools > Maintain Acceptable Transaction Date.

-
Click on Append (Icon with + symbol).

-
Choose the period for which you want to allow transactions.
-
Click Save.

-
Result:
The system will show a message if users try to save a document that is not in the acceptable transaction period.

If the user clicks Yes, a dialogue box will request override permission by ID/PW with rights to override it.
infoThe default setting grants users override permission. Refer to the following section for instructions on revoking this privilege from a specific user.
Override Acceptable Transaction Date
To override (i.e., save a document that falls outside the acceptable transaction dates), you will need to be logged in as a user with the right to override acceptable transaction dates.
-
Tools > Maintain User. Double-click on the user you want to Edit.

-
Click on More > Access Control.

-
Under Group Tools, tick or untick the option Override Acceptable Transaction Date to allow or deny the user from having the overriding right to save a document outside of the acceptable transaction period.
-
Save the access rights.

-
Result:
If the user is not permitted to override, the system will prompt the following dialog, and you can choose either:
- OK = cancel saving
- Override = Enter the ID and password of a user who can override, then save the transaction.


SQL Global Price Change
SQL Global Price Change helps you mark down prices for all items with a few clicks.
This is a paid module. Contact your SQL Service provider to get this standalone application.

Setup
-
Select your group of items:
- You can select a certain Stock Group or Category. If you want all items, leave Stock Group and Category blank.
- You can also choose only Active items.
- Once your group of items is selected, click on Get Stock Items List.

-
Setting the value to be adjusted:
Scenario: You are trying to reduce prices due to the removal of GST (6% > 0%).

-
Rounding Method (Assuming Round Decimal is 2):
- Normal: Example: 0.1234 => 0.12
- Round Up: Example: 0.1234 => 0.13
- Round Down: Example: 0.1274 => 0.12
-
Input Value = Sample Value
-
Output Result = Sample Result
-
Round decimal = Number of Decimal Points
It may look like a 6% reduction, but it is actually 5.66%.
Example:
Item price = RM 100
With 6% GST = RM 100 * 1.06 = RM 100 + 6% = RM 106 Removal of 6% GST = RM 106 / 1.06 = RM 106 - 5.66% = RM 100
-
Mark down = 5.66%
-
Why 5.66% instead of 6%?
-
30 May 2018 selling price = RM 106 GST Inclusive
-
01 June 2018 selling Price RM 106 – 5.66% = RM 100
-
NOT RM 106 – 6% = RM 99.64
-
sfds
-
sdfds
-
sdfsd
-
Select fields to be updated:

- Tick the option you want to adjust/update, e.g., Reference Price.
- You can also tick Record change history, and the system will update this change history in your notes.
- Once you complete the settings, click on Change.
-
Check & Post


Maintain Form Mode
Form Mode helps filter data based on defined criteria. It is used to restrict users to viewing only specific sets of data for a certain document. For example, agent Lip Fong can view and access the sales invoices belonging to his agent code LF ONLY.
New Form Mode
Watch the tutorial video here: Youtube
-
Tools > Maintain Form Mode > New.
-
Enter Code and Select the document form you want to filter, e.g., Invoice.

-
Click on Customize Filter and then click the button to add a new condition.

-
Change SL_IV.DOCKEY to SL_IV.Agent because you need to filter based on the sales invoice agent field. Then change = equals to like, enter the Agent Code you want to filter, and click OK.

-
Ensure the info is updated correctly, then click Save.

-
Other optional settings:


-
If you have set more than 1 form mode, once you click Sales > Invoice, you will get a prompt to choose which Form Mode you want to apply.

Form Mode VS User
How do I apply the form mode to a specific user?
-
Tools > User Access Right Assignment…
-
Under the list of security, click on Form Mode.
-
Select the user, e.g., user code: LF (Lip Fong).
-
Tick to apply the Form Mode, e.g., tick Form Mode: IV-LF and click Save.

Maintain Terms
Maintain Terms enables users to maintain their Customer and Supplier terms. In SQL, there are 3 different types of terms you can assign.
-
Tools > Maintain Terms > New.
-
Insert Code, Description, and allocated Term Type.

- Due in number of days – Specifies how many days until the document is due. For example, if you set 30 days, the document will be due on the 30th day from the document date.

- Due on specific day of the month – Specifies the month and day the document is due. For example, if you set it as 1 Month 6 Days, the document will be due on the 6th of the next month.

- Due in the month end – Specifies how many months until the document is due at the end of the final month. For example, if you set it as 2 months, the document will be due at the end of the 2nd month.
Maintain Currency
New Foreign Currency
Watch the tutorial video here: Youtube
You can bill overseas customers and suppliers in foreign currencies (e.g., USD, SGD, Euro, etc.). (Prof Package Inclusive)
-
Tools > Maintain Currency > New.

-
Maintain Customer / Supplier to assign the currency.

-
Sales document, select the customer, sample as below:
-
Currency Rate will follow your settings from Tools > Maintain Currency, but it is still changeable in this invoice.
-
Unit Price entered is based on the Customer’s currency (e.g., this customer is in USD).
-
The system will automatically convert this into the default currency (RM) in the Local Net Total column at the bottom right.

-
Payment from Foreign Customer
Scenario 1
Customer Invoice billing in USD, but payment paid in your local RM bank.
-
Customer > Customer Payment > New.
-
Select your Customer.
-
Choose your RM Bank.
-
Enter your RM Amount.
-
Knock off the invoice, and the Rate will be updated automatically by the system. Foreign gain/loss will be automatically calculated and posted to the account accordingly. (You can call out the Rate and Gain Loss columns from the hidden fields).

Scenario 2
Customer Invoice billing in USD, Payment paid in your Foreign USD Bank.
(Advance Currency module required)
-
Go to Tools > Maintain Payment > Edit your USD Bank.
-
Currency: You can assign the currency for the particular payment method so that the payment method will be in foreign currency payment.
-
Bank Charge Acc: You can pre-set the bank charges account for the payment method accordingly.
-
OR & PV Number Set: Set the default running document number for the particular payment method (optional).
-
Bank Info: Enables you to set Giro info and make payments through Giro (refer to the Interbank Giro topic for more details).

Select your payment received in your Foreign USD Bank, enter your paid Amount in USD, enter your USD Rate, and knock off the invoice. Foreign gain/loss will be automatically calculated by the system.

Scenario 3
Customer Invoice billing in USD, but payment in another currency (e.g., SGD / RMB / EURO).
-
Select your bank (e.g., you received payment in an SGD Bank), enter your SGD Amount and SGD Rate.
-
Knock off your USD Invoice.
-
The USD Rate will be automatically calculated, and foreign gain/loss will be automatically calculated and posted to the account accordingly.

Maintain Project (Required Project Module)
This is an extra module that must be purchased. You may contact customer support to purchase it.
This module enables users to maintain project accounting on a branch or departmental basis. Users can use this module for simple construction businesses to view Profit and Loss / Balance Sheet by Project.
-
Click on Tools > Maintain Project.

-
Insert the Project Code and Description. Project Value and Project Cost are not compulsory fields; if filled in, they serve as remarks.

-
Click on Tools > Options.

-
Look for Miscellaneous and ensure the option Show Document Project is ticked.

-
During Sales and Purchase transactions, ensure you can see the Project column, then update it accordingly.

When keying in a transaction, some users may ask why there is a project at the item detail level and another beside the Customer. Is it a duplicate tab?
What is the difference between More > Project (Document Project) and Item Detail > Project (Item Project)?



The project feature is also available for GL > Cash Book Entry.
After updating the document with a project, how do you view reports by project and compare them? For example: GL > Print Profit & Loss Statement.
-
Filter by the date you want to view for the P&L report. If you want to perform a project-to-project comparison, choose Comparison – Project (6 columns).
note6 Columns = up to 6 projects
10 Columns = up to 10 projects
19 Columns = up to 19 projects.
-
Criteria:
-
After selecting the report you need, ensure you tick Show Column Options. The top of the report will then show column options.
-
You may change the period you want to view; by default, it will be Current Month.
If you want to view the whole year's figures, change it to Current Year.

-
-
After changing the column options, tick Print Project Comparison. The Project tab will appear on the right-hand side. Select the project you want to view and click Add.

-
Click Apply to see the result. The P&L report will compare each project you selected.

5 Cents Rounding
You can pre-set the system to automatically round your invoice or cash sales amounts to the nearest 5 cents.
Watch the tutorial video here: Youtube
-
Tools > Options > Customer.
-
Tick 5 Cents Rounding for Sales Invoice / Cash Sales.


Online Mobile Approval
How it works?
For example: If we set a Credit Limit over RM30,000, an override will be required.
-
A dialog box will be prompted after clicking Save Invoice: "Do you want to override?" > Click Yes.

-
Click on Online Approval.

-
Tick the ID you choose to get approval from.
-
You can choose to send via WhatsApp, Email, or WhatsApp & Email.

-
-
You will receive a message via WhatsApp or an Email sent by the system.
-
Scenario 1: Send By WhatsApp
You will receive a message > Click the link.

-
Scenario 2: Send By Email
You will receive an email > Click 'CLICK HERE FOR MORE ACTIONS'.

-
-
Login with the Gmail Address you set in Maintain User > Open ID (Google).
note- This step is for those who send via WhatsApp and do not use Gmail to receive notifications.
- Those who use a Gmail Address to receive notifications and approve can skip to Step 6.

-
Enter your Gmail Password.

-
After logging into Gmail, you will see this window:

-
You can click on Doc Detail and ScreenShot to see the details.
-
Doc Detail: Shows the Customer Code and the reason why an override is needed.
-
ScreenShot: Shows the transaction screen.
-
Reply: You can leave a message and click Approve or Reject.

noteAfter clicking Approve or Reject, return to SQL Accounting. You will see one of the following scenarios:
-
Scenario 1: Approve Override
a. Message: Approve Message
b. A green tick will appear after approval.
c. Click OK to save the transaction.

-
Scenario 2: Reject Override
a. Message: Reject Message
b. A cross will appear after rejection.
c. The OK button is disabled after rejection; click Cancel.

After clicking Cancel, the system will prompt this dialog box again:

-
When to use?
Online Approval can be used for the following actions:
| Module | Action |
|---|---|
| Logon Screen | - No access right to change password |
| All Module | - All Document entry without Execute / Print / Preview / Export access rights |
| - Unable to Save and Manage Grid Layout | |
| - Unable to Grid Export | |
| - Save Document Fall Outside Acceptable Trans Date | |
| Customer Invoice | - Fast entry save Invoice |
| SL&PH | - Prompt Stock Qty Control Dialog |
| - Prompt change unit price | |
| - Save price below cost (fmSLPriceControl) | |
| - Override Credit Control | |
| GL | - Bank Recon Entry form to Check Bank Recon Listing |
| Stock | - Update GL stock value from other stock month end report |
| - Stock Report with Execute access right but without Process right | |
| Inquiry | - Hide Dashboard |
1. Maintain User
-
Tools > Maintain User.

2. Edit User
-
Double-click the user you want to set up > Edit.


3. Set Approval Person
-
Set the details for the Approval Person (ONLY GMAIL CAN LOGIN TO APPROVE OR REJECT).
-
Mobile number: The WhatsApp number to receive notifications for approval.
-
Email: The email address to receive notifications for approval.
-
Open ID (Google): The Gmail account used to approve or reject.
noteIf the notification email and approval email are both Gmail, configure only Open ID (Google) and leave the Email column blank.

For Example:
-
Scenario 1: Use the Same Gmail to Receive Notifications and Give Approval
Your Gmail address is:
XXXXXX@gmail.com- Open ID (Google):
XXXXXX@gmail.com - Email: Leave blank

- Open ID (Google):
-
Scenario 2: Use Different Emails to Receive Notifications and Give Approval
-
Gmail Address for Approval:
XXXXXX@gmail.com -
Email Address for Notifications:
XXXXXX@estream.com- Open ID (Google): Put your Gmail address
XXXXXX@gmail.com - Email:
XXXXXX@estream.com
- Open ID (Google): Put your Gmail address

-
-
4. Setting SMTP
- This setting is for users who want to use Email to send notifications.
- If using WhatsApp to send approvals, you can skip this step.
-
Ensure you have created an App Password.
- If you are using Gmail, you can click this link to follow the steps to create your App Password.
- After obtaining your App Password, return to SQL Accounting.
-
Click on Email Setting.
-
Enter your Email SMTP Host.
-
Enter your Email SMTP Port.
-
Enter your Email SMTP Connection Security.
-
Enter your Email Address.
-
Enter your App Password.
-
Enter your Email Sender Name.
-
After completing the settings, click Save.

Maintain Journal
Journal is primarily used to categorize document types while analyzing reports by journal.

Create New Journal

| Field Name | Explanation & Properties |
|---|---|
| Journal | - Input the new Journal code |
- Field type: Alphanumerical
- Length: 10 | | Description | - Input the Journal description
- Field type: Alphanumerical
- Length: 80 | | Active | - Checked = Active
- Unchecked = Inactive | |
Journal Setting
-
Let's say you have created a new Journal named Sales-DN. See the screenshot below.

-
You must set the Journal at Tools > Options....
-
In the General Ledger tab, you can link the Journal to a default Journal.
-
For example, link the Sales-DN Journal to a default Journal like Customer Debit Note. See the screenshot below.

Reporting by Journal
GL > Print Journal of Transaction Listing... See the screenshot below:

- You can select the Journal lookup as shown in the screenshot above.
- The system will list the double entries posted from the Sales / Customer Debit Note.
Maintain Style
Menu: Tools > Maintain Style
Use this to display document details in different font types (currently not supported) and sizes. For example, if the document detail font size is 10, see the screenshot below:

Create New Style


| Field Name | Explanation & Properties |
|---|---|
| Style ID | - Input the new Style ID. - Field type: Alphanumerical - Length: 5 |
| Font | - Always tick and click on the Font button to select the font size. - Field type: Checkbox |
| Background - Color | - Not supported |
| Background - Image | - Not supported |
Maintain Commission
Menu: Tools > Maintain Commission Script...
- Execute a simple commission script to determine the commission rate based on the payment age (Payment Date - Invoice Date).
- The Sales Commission Script module is required.
Browse mode in Maintain Style. See the screenshot below:

Create New Commission Script
- Click on NEW. See the screenshot below.

| Field Name | Explanation |
|---|---|
| Code | Input the new code. |
| Description | Input the commission script description. |
| Script | Load the commission script. |
-
Example of the scripts:
a. Script 1
Commission Script
procedure CalculateCommission(AKODocAmt, AAge: variant; var Value: variant);
begin
if AAge < 10 then
Value := AKODocAmt * 0.05
else if AAge < 20 then
Value := AKODocAmt * 0.03
else if AAge < 30 then
Value := AKODocAmt * 0.02
else
Value := AKODocAmt * 0.005;
end;
Maintain Agent
Menu: Tools > Maintain Agent...
- An Agent is a sales person or sales representative.
- This is very useful when applying reports by an Agent.
- You can create or edit the Agent or sales person code here.

Create New Agent

| Field Name | Explanation & Properties |
|---|---|
| Code | - Input the new Agent code - Field type: Alphanumerical - Length: 10 |
| Description | - Input the Agent Name - Field type: Alphanumerical - Length: 80 |
| Active | - Checked = Active - Unchecked = Inactive |
Maintain Area
Menu: Tools > Maintain Area...
- Area can represent states, countries, or regions.
- This is very useful when applying reports by Area.
- You can create or edit the area or country code here.
